Whether you’re making your way through Spyro the Dragon, Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage! or Spyro: Year of the Dragon in Spyro Reignited Trilogy, you’re probably wondering how you save your game.
The truth is, you can’t. Or rather, you can’t manually save.
All three Spyro games included in Spyro Reignited Trilogy utilise an autosave system, which means you never need to worry about doing it yourself. Unfortunately, such a system does lead to times where you’re not sure if you’re safe to turn the game off without losing a little bit of progress though.
To make sure all your progress is saved in Spyro the Dragon, Spyro 2: Ripto’s Rage! or Spyro: Year of the Dragon, keep an eye out for a brightly coloured Spyro icon appearing in the bottom right hand corner of the screen. When it appears, it means your game has just been saved, giving you confidence that you can turn it off without losing any progress. You can usually get one to appear by moving near a fairy; when they hit you with an orb of light, you’ve just activated a checkpoint in case you die and saved your game.
Alternatively, if you really want to make sure your progress is saved, press the start button, enter the Guidebook via the menu that appears, and then travel to another level. That always does the trick.