How to Save Your Game in Borderlands 3

Borderlands 3 4 (1)
Borderlands 3

Since Borderlands 3 is such a big game, the last thing you want to do is lose any progress. Here’s what you need to know about saving your game.

Like many big open world games these days, Borderlands 3 has no specific “save game” option in the menu. Annoying, right? We all like the security of knowing we’ve selected that option, even if a game autosaves regularly.

Unfortunately in Borderlands 3, you need to rely on that autosave function. Thankfully, it does autosave regularly – look out for the icon that appears in the bottom corner of your screen. Borderlands 3 will save when you complete missions, when you enter new areas and frequently when you interact with new areas and people in the environment.

Before you hit ‘quit game’ or simply close Borderlands 3 to desktop though, it’s wise to get yourself to a safe area. Since you know the game will always save when you enter a new area, it’s a good practice to travel somewhere new before quitting. If your’e in the middle of an area, the game also won’t remember your location; you’ll start at the nearest spawn point.

That’s pretty much all you need to know. You never need to manually save in Borderlands 3 – in fact, you can’t – but it’s always wise to quit the game just after you’ve completed a mission or entered a new area. And always wait for that ‘save’ icon to have just finished flashing before you exit.


More Borderlands 3 guides