The Last of Us Part II Wins Game of the Year at the Golden Joystick Awards 2020

Golden Joystick Awards 2020

Last night saw 2020’s Golden Joystick Awards, celebrating some of the best games of the year.

The Golden Joystick Awards have been running in the UK since the 1980s, with each year seeing popular video games awarded for their achievements. Last night’s event was no different, and the main winners from the show will likely come as no surprise.

Developer Supergiant Games walked away with two awards for Hades: Best Indie Game and Critic’s Choice Award. One of the biggest games of the year, Animal Crossing: New Horizons claimed the accolade of Best Nintendo Game – no surprises there.


But the runaway success goes to The Last of Us Part II, Naughty Dog’s magnum opus. The game itself claimed no less than five awards, with the developer also walking away with Studio of the Year. Along with Best Storytelling, Best Visual Design, Best Audio and PlayStation Game of the Year, it also claimed Ultimate Game of the Year. Well done, Naughty Dog!

You can see the full list of winners from The Golden Joysticks 2020 below.

  • Best Storytelling – The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Multiplayer Game – Fall Guys
  • Best Visual Design – The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Game Expansion – No Man’s Sky: Origins
  • Mobile Game of the Year – Lego Builder’s Journey
  • Best Audio – The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Indie Game – Hades
  • Still Playing – Minecraft
  • Studio of the Year – Naughty Dog
  • Esports Game of the Year – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster – iamBrandon
  • Best Family Game – Fall Guys
  • Best Gaming Community – Minecraft
  • Best Performer – Sandra Saad (Kamala Khan)
  • Breakthrough Award – Innersloth (Among Us)
  • Outstanding Contribution – The Gaming Industry
  • PC Game of the Year – Death Stranding
  • Best Gaming Hardware – NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080
  • PlayStation Game of the Year – The Last of Us Part II
  • Xbox Game of the Year – Ori and the Will of the Wisps
  • Nintendo Game of the Year – Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Most Wanted Game – God of War: Ragnarok
  • Critic’s Choice – Hades
  • Ultimate Game of the Year – The Last of Us Part II