Which World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Covenant Should You Choose?

world of warcraft: shadowlands

You’re a Kyrian, Harry Potter.

With the release of Shadowlands late last year, players were introduced to World of Warcraft‘s Covenants for the very first time. While the expansion has been out for some time, players are still struggling with which Covenant is the best choice for them.

Each of the four covenants – The Kyrians of Bastion, The Necrolords of Maldraxxus, The Night Fae of Ardenweald and The Venthyr of Revendreth – have their own unique bonuses for players to choose from. Some are better than others, but they all have their benefits. We’ve put together a quick reference guide for players to use to give them an idea of what each of the four covenants is all about to try and help you make the ultimate choice: who you’re going to join.


The Kyrians of Bastion

Bastion, home to the Kyrians, is a beautiful land of bright blue skies and gorgeous flora and fauna. Those that go to Bastion and pass their trials are ascended and able to join the Archon – the very first of the Kyrians. Those that end up in Bastion in the afterlife were the very best; accomplished and pure in life. But, as conflict looms in Bastion, more and more Kyrians find themselves unable to ascend.

The first ability that players gain for choosing Bastion is Summon Steward. This allows you to call an adorable steward to your side. Your steward can bring you a Phial of Serenity which restores 15% of your health and removes any negative effects. It can also do other things. like buy items from you, help you change your talents and more each day.

Kyrians are a great choice for the following classes:

  • Blood Death Knights (Raids & Mythic+)
  • Frost Death Knights
  • Balance Druid
  • Holy Paladin (Raiding & Mythic+)
  • Protection Paladin (Great choice in general)
  • Vengeance Demon Hunters (Raiding & Mythic+)
  • All 3 Monk Specialisations (Pelagos as Soulbind, great for Raids & Mythic+)
  • Holy Priest (All 4 covenants are great for this specialisation)
  • Discipline Priest (Mythic+)
  • Protection Warrior (Raids & Mythic+)
  • Arms Warrior

The Necrolords of Maldraxxus

Maldraxxus is all about strength and perseverance. Those that were brutal and unforgiving in life end up with The Necrolords in their dark world. This World of Warcraft covenant’s leader has gone missing, but those in Maldraxxus don’t plan to let that seat remain empty for long. Five Necrolords are competing to take control. Power is the only thing they care about and they’re willing to get it in any way they can.

The signature ability for all classes is Fleshcraft, a shield that prevents you from taking damage equal to 20% of your maximum health for two minutes. If you stand within 10 yards of a corpse while Fleshcraft is active you’ll get an even larger shield for up to 50% of your max health.

The Necrolords are a great choice for the following classes:

  • Unholy Death Knight (Raiding, Mythic+, Torghast)
  • Guardian Druid
  • Destruction Warlock (Raiding)
  • Shadow Priest (Raiding & Mythic+)
  • Elemental Shaman (Raiding & Mythic+)
  • Restoration Shaman (Raiding)

The Night Fae of Ardenweald

Another beautiful land is that of Ardenweald where those that have a connection to nature and wildlife find themselves when their time in the living world has ended. The Night Fae follow the strong and quiet Winter Queen who, due to the anima drought, has had to make difficult choices for her people. She has to decide which souls to feed and which she will let starve for the greater good.

The signature ability for the Night Fae is Soulshape. Soulshape turns players into a Vulpin which briefly increases their movement speed by 50%. It can also teleport you forward.

The Night Fae are a great choice for the following classes:

  • All 3 Mage Specialisations
  • Frost Death Knight
  • Feral Druid
  • Restoration Druid
  • All Rogue Specialisations (Great Soulbind choices)
  • Affliction Warlock (Raiding)
  • Demonology Warlock (Raiding)
  • Beast Mastery Hunter (Raiding & Mythic+)
  • Marksmanship Hunter (Raiding – Week 1, Raiding & Mythic+)
  • Survival Hunter (Raiding & Mythic+)

The Venthyr of Revendreth

The Venthur are one of World of Warcraft‘s most complicated Covenants. They’re not exactly the worst of the worst, but many of the souls cast there have things to make up for. Not to mention that Revendreth’s Master, Denathrius, isn’t as he seems. Things are amok in the once glorious Revendreth and its Master is at the heart of the problem.

The signature ability for The Venthyr is Door of Shadows. This ability lets the player teleport around within 25 yards. You cannot teleport to a location where you wouldn’t normally be able to walk to, but it can be used to traverse gaps.

The Venthyr are a great choice for the following classes:

  • Frost Death Knight
  • Retribution Paladin
  • Enhancement Shaman (Raiding, Mythic+, Torghast)
  • Havoc Demon Hunter (Raiding, Torghast)
  • Discipline Priest
  • Restoration Shaman (Mythic +)
  • Arms Warriors
  • Fury Warriors