How to Save Your Game in Deathloop

deathloop (1)

Wondering how to save your game in Deathloop, Bethesda’s latest hit shooter? Here’s everything you need to know.

It’s important to save your progress in Deathloop. But since this is a game that literally loops – you’ll play the same day over and over – saving isn’t exactly straightforward. In fact, there’s no option to save at all. But don’t worry; not all is lost.

Each day in Deathloop is essentially broken up into four time periods: morning, noon, afternoon, and evening. Each one of those time periods is its own mission. Exactly what you choose to tackle as part of that mission is up to you, but essentially, one day in Deathloop consists of four main missions. Your game will automatically save after completing each mission – that’s to say once you return to the tunnels and exit through the door.

Advertisement

But if you wish to leave the game while you’re still in a mission area, your progress won’t be saved. Instead, you’ll restart the mission from the beginning next time you load up the game.

That’s not exactly ideal – after all, some missions can be quite lengthy. But you can go back to the tunnels at any time, and any information you’ve collected will remain yours (as will any items, providing you’ve got enough Residuum to claim them). If you quit the game, however, any information and items will be lost, and you’ll need to redo everything.

So, in a nutshell: you cannot save your game in Deathloop. But it does autosave your progress every time you complete a time period. So play the game and don’t worry about needing to save – but try not to quit while you’re out in the world.

Need more help with Deathloop? You can find all our guides here.