Next Week, Tune into the Xbox Tokyo Game Show Stream

Tokyo Game Show 2022

Microsoft is putting on an Xbox game stream at Toyko Game Show, showcasing a mix of existing titles and upcoming games.

“Xbox Tokyo Game Show?” you might be thinking, “… didn’t we just have Gamescom, towards the end of August?” We did, and you can read our round-up of the opening night here. However, there’s more to the Xbox Toyko Game Show stream than just showing off Game X and Game Y. According to Microsoft:

“Like years’ past, this will be a show curated for our players in Japan and Asia…you can expect to see updates on existing titles from Xbox Game Studios and titles launching from developer partners that we hope will delight players here in Japan, across Asia and around the world.”

While the Xbox has done well in the West, it’s always struggled in the Japanese market. Yes, as noted by VGC, the Xbox did, in May, beat the PlayStation 4 in Japan but that was more down to the PlayStation 5’s supply issues. In August the PlayStation 5 was back to outselling the Xbox Series X and S.

Microsoft is no doubt hoping that some of the titles shown at the Xbox Toyko Game Stream will persuade the Japanese audience to go out and purchase an Xbox. Back in 2016, Xbox head Phil Spencer remarked, “I feel that a lot of the games are not games that the Japanese public would play.” No doubt work has gone into resolving this, but there’s still a way to go.

You can watch the Xbox Tokyo Game Show livestream next Thursday, September 15th at 6 p.m. JST / 9 a.m. GMT / 2 a.m. PDT, live on the Tokyo Game Show YouTube channel.