If you make a purchase after following a link on our site, we may earn a small commission. Learn more.

The Callisto Protocol Podcast

The Callisto Protocol Has a Prequel Podcast and You Can Listen to it Now

The Callisto Protocol has a prequel podcast and two of the episodes are already here.

If you’ve missed the news, The Callisto Protocol is an upcoming sci-fi survival horror from the director of the original Dead Space trilogy. And, so far, it’s as close as he and his team can get without it literally being Dead Space.

The game takes place in a massive prison, built on the ruins of a previous space colony. So there’s nothing foreboding about that, then. The podcast sees two bounty hunters being embroiled in a grim mission, grimmer even than their usual fair.

Dubbed The Callisto Protocol: Helix Station, the pair – played respectively by Gwendoline Christie and and Michael Ironside – have to bring back an escaped prisoner from the titular space metropolis. The snag, however, is that Christie’s character, Percy, has a few buried secrets of her own. So absolutely nothing’s going to wrong, obviously.

You’ll have to listen to the podcast to discover whether The Callisto Protocol’s enemies get a look in. The cover art does, certainly, suggests there’s something slimy lurking in the dark. We’ve had a brief listen and it’s suitable dramatic, with Christie, Ironside and the rest of the cast delivering some solid performances. That said, and it’s through no fault of his own, we can’t stop picturing Ironside as Splinter Cell’s Sam Fisher.

The six-part podcast is a collaboration between IGN, developer Striking Distance studios, and the game’s publisher Krafton. Two episodes are out right now and the rest will arrive as follows:

  • Episode 3: November 10 at 9pm PT/12am EST/5am BST/2pm AEST.
  • Episode 4: November 17 at 9pm PT/12am EST/5am BST/2pm AEST.
  • Episode 5: November 24 at 9pm PT/12am EST/5am BST/2pm AEST.
  • Episode 6: December 1 at 9pm PT/12am EST/5am BST/2pm AEST.

Each episode is just under half-an-hour in length, though the final episode may end up being a little longer. We’re hoping it has a more dramatic conclusion than the The Quarry’s podcast, which started well but fizzled out at the end.

You can listen to it through several sites/services including Stitcher, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Sirius, Pandora, iHeartRadio, Pocket Casts, and TuneIn. We went through Apple Podcasts, here, but it’s up to you how you fill your ears.

The Callisto Protocol podcast leads up to the game’s release date, which is December 2nd this year. It’ll arrive on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S and PC (via the Steam Store or Epic Games Store).

Check the price of The Callisto Protocol

Similar Posts